Today is election day–did you vote?

Posted on February 22, 2011 by

0


Mayoral hopefuls

Image by cab234 via Flickr

Drop by any black household, visit any black church or tune in to the chatter at any black beauty salon in America and you are bound to hear the gripes of what it means to be black in America and how we are never given a fair shake.

So why is it that today, Feb. 22–VOTING DAY in Chicago– so many of my black brothers and sisters are refusing to cast their ballots?

It’s one of VERY FEW ways that we can voice our opinions, yet we refuse to do it. Does that make sense?

If you are tired of law enforcement harassing you for driving while black, sick of your kids getting teachers who can’t teach worth $#!&, afraid to go home at night for fear of gunshots ringing through your neighborhood, then YOU need to vote.

I’ve personally decided to endorse Gery Chico. Sure, I know some will call me a sellout for not endorsing my fellow black sister, Carol Mosely Braun, but right now, it’s not about race for me. It is about who I think will make my city a better place to live in.

Chico’s track record as the former president of the Board of Education is impressive. And as a parent, I am sincerely concerned with the future of our schools. Even if you aren’t a parent, you should be too. Criminals tend to be less educated and there are no prerequisites to becoming a victim. With that being said, let me reiterate that I am supporting Gery Chico because he is not only talking about a better school system, he has already shown that he can make this happen.

Further, it’s no secret how unsafe Chicago’s streets have become. Chico has vowed to increase police presence by adding more than 2,000 officers during his first term.

And because Chico comes from humble beginnings and went on establish his own success, I know he can relate to me. Oh, and it doesn’t hurt that he attended my alma mater, the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, before transferring to U of I’s Chicago campus.

Ultimately, the choice is up to you. But please, please, please don’t let this opportunity to have your voice be heard pass you by.

For more information on today’s candidates, visit the Chicago Tribune’s election’s page here and make your ballot before you go.